The #Flying100 Family Holiday Challenge

My son J was nearly seven when I met him, and the imagelast thing on my mind that first blissful summer was flying off into the sun. Just the opposite in fact. He’d had a very difficult start to life and had spent four years in foster care. So we stayed put so that J could settle into his new home and his new family, and I could try to learn how to be an adoptive mum.

This post is an entry for the #Flying100 Family Holiday Challenge, celebrating how flying allows us to make memories and ‘be there’, in association with #Flying100. Find out more at http://bit.ly/flying100.

Nine years on, and we have covered a lot of ground!

We’ve walked…. the St Cuthberts’s Way in Northumberland, and the South Downs Way in Sussex….

We’ve taken boats…. in Croatia, in Turkey, and one cold day in New York


We’ve caught the bus (and ridden camels!)…. From Marrakech to Essaouira in Morocco

Riding camels, Essaouira, Morocco
And, memorably, J has celebrated his first ever flight (to Paris), and more recently his first solo flight to meet me in Barcelona…..

image
And if we look to the future? There are old family friends to visit in New Zealand, and dear cousins still to meet in Israel. There are mountains to climb, and oceans to swim in. And all this to do before the boy tires of his old mum. We’d better get a move on!

6 comments

  1. I really enjoy reading about your adventures together, my own son has just turned 3, but I hope to share similar experiences with him, especially the walking holidays, they look amazing!

    1. Glad to hear you’re enjoying my blog, and thank you for letting me know. Well, it’s never too early to start having adventures! But I think your little one might need to have longer legs before he tackles some of those bigger hills 🙂 Something to look forward to…

  2. I enjoyed reading about your travel experiences and dreams. As an adopted child, I so admire you for giving your son such a lovely life. Commenting for myself and on behalf of BritMums and thanking you for taking part

    1. Thanks so much! Luckily my son enjoys travelling as much as I do, and seems to thrive on the new experiences. That will stand him in good stead in the future, I’m sure. As for me, I always felt lucky to have had the chance to be a parent, as I’m sure your parents did too. And National Adoption Week is a good time to celebrate this!

  3. Lovely … I trulu liked the aim of your blog… Best to you and your son!, Aquileana 😀

    1. Thank you Aquileana! Writing it all down helps me see how far we have travelled in every sense of the word. Best wishes

Please feel free to comment

