A train, a plane and another milestone

I wrote my first post for Travels with my Son exactly a year ago. I meant my blog to be a place to record my memories of J’s early days with me, and of our travels together. Of course I meant ‘travels’ in the sense of both our journeys to places with suitcases, and our emotional journeys too. Plenty of baggage, whichever way you look at it!

Today I have been re-reading the first short piece I wrote a year ago, which you can read here. I remember I was trying to capture the excitement of that first week as a new family. J was so small then, and needed such a lot of looking after. From the very first, my family and friends rallied round us with love and endless support.

Barcelona Lots has happened in the last year as a direct result of writing here. I have found a whole community of bloggers, some of whom write about their own experiences of adoption from different perspectives. The Adoption Social is at the heart of this. I have written a piece for the British Association for Adoption and Fostering‘s website about adopting older children, and have made a short video for Adoption UK, which they hope to use in their staff training. And next month I’m excited to be meeting with prospective adopters to talk about IAAM, the great new adoption service that finds families for ‘harder to place’ children and more importantly, provides extra support and help to make this work.

Meanwhile J is thriving. Tomorrow he joins me here in Barcelona where I have spent the last couple of days on business, and it will be his first solo flight, aged 15 years and 11 months exactly. That’s much more of a milestone than this blog anniversary needless to say, and a marker of just how far we have travelled together since that first train journey to meet his grandparents, aged six and three quarters.

Barcelona map

6 comments

  1. Wow. That is a milestone indeed. Great times and great adventures. I love reading about them. So inspiring.

    1. Thank you! I especially love marking the milestones, and there are many except mostly I don’t realise they are there until well after the event (if at all). J arrived in Barcelona anyway safe and sound so that is definitely something to celebrate 🙂

  2. And we’re so glad you are a part of this brilliant online community!

    Thanks for sharing your post on #WASO and ‘Happy Blogoversary’ x

    1. It’s a very special space and place…. and you created it. Amazing and so valuable x x

  3. I love your blog – happy blog-versary!

    1. Aahhh, thank you Suddenly! Hopefully I have a few more years left in me yet …

Please feel free to comment

