Dear Judge MacGregor

 

Dear Judge MacGregor

My mum thought it would be nice to write to you to tell you how I feel about being adopted. To be honest I don’t know how I feel because it doesn’t make much of a difference. I last saw V when I was 3 and I don’t remember her. I miss Colleen and Ray and also they were very good at looking after me. That’s why I have always loved them because they loved me and cared for me. Now I feel loved by my whole family especially my mum. In fact when I was younger I used to send my mum Valentines. The best thing about this family is that it’s perfect.

Yours truly
J

Judge MacGregor, Principal Registry of the Family Division

At the age of 10, when he wrote this eloquent and touching letter to the judge who presided over his adoption, J was an avid reader, but did everything he could to avoid writing. He found it a real struggle. J wrote this with barely any encouragement from me, in his best handwriting, and every word is his own. I love that, unprompted, he reflected and brought together his birthmum, his much loved foster carers, and his new family in one letter at this transformational moment in his life. In fact I burst with pride.

I am linking this post (his post) to the Weekly Adoption Shout Out over at the Adoption Social. Many adopted children and their parents face daily challenges together and this is a forum where parents can share in both the good and the bad times.

6 comments

  1. I’ve seen some adopted and fostered children so full of trepidation but not J. I know he was meant to be with you.

    1. You’re right, it does feel like that. But also, he’d been with me for over three years by the time he wrote this letter although as far as we were all concerned, I’d adopted him the moment we first met. So there wasn’t really much room for trepidation about the legal process by that point!

  2. That is just beautiful, very moving, as your posts often are. Thanks for sharing on #WASO

    1. Always love sharing on #WASO. J has some mixed up emotions but at heart he is supremely gentle and loving x

  3. Anonymous · · Reply

    Adorable and very moving! this is a wonderful letter!

    1. Yes, and he hadn’t had much practice! Not a big letter writer, I have to say 😉

Please feel free to comment

