Flow’rs of middle summer

 

 

Surrey lavender fields

 

Hot lavender, mints, savory, marjoram;

The marigold that goes to bed wi’ th’ sun,

That with him rises weeping; these are flow’rs

Of middle summer, and I think they are given

To men of middle age.

 

There is nothing …. and no, really I mean nothing….. that I would rather do with J than get together a picnic and take ourselves off to a field, or a beach, or a park bench, or in fact anywhere that we can sit and eat simply outside.

I don’t need blue skies, although I do love Shakespeare’s flowers of middle summer. It’s great to have a view although some of our best picnics have been eaten up a mountain in a damp mist. The food needs not be gourmet… more often than not, a round of cheese and tomato sandwiches, a pork pie, a bag of crisps and a chocolate bar do us just fine.

We just need to eat outside. It’s as simple as that.

I am linking up to the Weekly Adoption Shout Out on the theme of our favourite family place as well as to WordPress’ weekly Photo Challenge on the theme of Summer Lovin’. Two for the price of one this week!

9 comments

  1. Fields of lavender are about as lovely took look at and inhale as nature can reasonably expect. Thanks for the reminder.

    1. And we are lucky enough to have these lavender fields just outside London. They are a wonderful sight x

  2. Those fields of lavender look great. If they are anything like the lavender pots in my garden, they will be attracting all the Bees. I can sit back and watch them buzz around for ages, nice cup of tea in one hand, and a chocolate digestive in the other.

  3. Yes, you’re right, they were indeed attracting the bees… and minutes after this shot, I was stung when one crawled between my toe and my sandal 😦 What I didn’t know until I went into the farm shop was that lavender oil rubbed into the sting works a treat. Which was lucky as they were selling plenty of it!

    1. Ouch! Hope that sting is feeling a lot better now. Thanks for the tip on the lavender oil as well. I’ll make sure I get some.

  4. Such wonderful purple in those fields of lavender. Now the yellow field…is it rapeseed? So vibrant against the green.

    1. Yes, you are exactly right. Thanks to your post today, I now know not to call it that when I’m next in Canada! Thank you 🙂 It’s very much a Spring crop here though, and a colour that cheers us up after a long winter…

      1. I recall seeing another blog post from the UK with a field of rapeseed as she called it, in the spring. We were still busy shovelling snow at the time!
        I have truly appreciated out discussion this morning. The learning and meeting people all over the world is such a great thing about blogging.

        1. Yes, me too, and I completely agree!

Please feel free to comment

