Weekly Photo Challenge: Containers

The island of Kastellorizo or Mais in GreeceOne day last summer we took a boat from Kaş on the Turkish coast out to the Greek island of Kastellorizo (or Meis, its Turkish name), a few kilometres away. My father and son and I whiled away a few hours by the picturesque harbour, eating and drinking, and observing the quiet comings and goings of island life. This fishing boat is one of many there. Who needs buoys when you can recycle your old diesel and water bottles? To misquote William Morris terribly “Have nothing on your boats that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful”.

The journey back to Kaş was memorable for two reasons. As our ferry turned in the harbour, a cry went up from the port side. It took a few moments for us to understand that a dolphin had been spied and there was much excitement, amongst tourists and locals alike. Then, two kilometres into the five kilometre journey, we were forced to give a wide berth to a man paddling to Kaş on a lilo. A very strange and intriguing sight. Any thoughts on why he chose to travel that way?

I have written more about our very lovely holiday in Turkey here, and you can find a whole load more containers here.

8 comments

  1. A beautiful picture and a beautiful story. The greek islands are a magical place, especially when it comes to relaxing and ‘recharging the batteries’. I wonder if that man on the lilo ever made it to Kas? My guess is that he chose to travel that way as he did not want to have to pay the boat/ferry fare.

    1. Thank you so much for commenting Hugh. I also love the Greek Islands and we have had a couple of holidays there in recent years, as well as that quick hop over to Kastellerizo last year. And I absolutely adore the ferry journeys between islands! I think maybe they take me back to my childhood. I was brought up near you in Lewes, and the Newhaven – Dieppe ferry was just down the road. All our holidays started with a ferry journey. Good times!
      The poor man on the lilo… Well, I remembered after I posted this that there is an annual swimming race between Kas and Kastellerizo. Perhaps he was in training? It seemed like a LOT of effort, whatever the reason.

      1. I only travelled by ferry twice, but it was from mainland Greece to the island of Mykonos and then back again. I have to say that both journeys were unforgettable, just for the complete range of people travelling on-board, as well as the all the lovely islands we stopped off at on the way.
        I’m so glad I came across your blog. I’m loving reading it, so pressing the follow button was a no brainer.
        I look forward to reading much more from you, Izzwizz.

  2. What a fabulous photo! We spent two days in Kas during our cycling trip in Turkey. It holds special memories as this is where we paraglided off the cliffs above Kas.

    1. VERY belatedly responding… Say that again… You paraglided off the cliffs over Kas? My…. that must have been quite an experience….

      1. It was amazing. If you like there is a very short video clip of it in this post. http://traveltalesoflife.com/2014/06/03/the-endorphins-made-me-do-it/

        1. Fantastic. Yes, blooming brilliant. We went diving in Kas, and J went canyoning, but we didn’t think of paragliding. Not my thing…. I’m not good with edges (rather than heights) …. but I can see J doing it some time when I’m not around to look at him doing it.

          1. I would have to say that in Kas we were so high on the cliffs you lose perspective of how far you are up and it’s not as scary to go over the edge. I’m not sure if that makes any sense but it felt that way to me. Hope J enjoys it. 🙂

Please feel free to comment

