Keeping time

I am my parents’ first child.

  • I have been a mother for one sixth of my life.
  • I have had 16 homes.
  • I have worked in four countries and had 11 employers.
  • I shared my birthday with my great Oncle Jacques.
  • I think of my mother every day.
  • My son is 15 and my father is 85.
  • My sister and her husband have three clever and beautiful daughters.
  • I was 49 when I had breast cancer.
  • Both my grandmothers had two sisters.
  • I was approved to adopt a year to the day after submitting my application.
  • I bought our flat on J’s first birthday, more than five years before I first met him.
  • My mother died on J’s sister’s 21st birthday.
  • Today is my birthday.
  • Oncle Jacques, if he he were still alive, would be 100 years old today.Dinah Child and Isobel Child

    I am linking this post up to the Adoption Social’s Weekly Adoption Shout Out #WASO 75, on the theme of Timekeeping, 12th July 2014.

4 comments

  1. Sending you wishes for a very happy birthday!

    1. Thank you very much!

    1. Thank you 🙂

Please feel free to comment

