Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition

Space shuttle EnterprisePictured here is Space Shuttle Enterprise, the world’s first space shuttle. It had performed manned and unmanned test flights in the atmosphere, though never in the end went into space.

On 6th June 2012, I saw Enterprise as far as you could imagine from its natural habitat. Thirty six years after its first unveiling, Enterprise was being hauled by barge along the Hudson River in New York.

Despite its emasculation, this iconic spacecraft Enterprise 2still drew the crowds.

Today’s post is in response to WordPress’s weekly photo challenge on the theme of Juxtaposition. I have written more about my family’s experiences on the Hudson River, which you can find here.

7 comments

  1. […] Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | Travels with my son […]

  2. Very nice catch. Did you know it was coming, or did you just happen to be there at the right time?

    Meanwhile, come check out my Crossed Wires Juxtaposition:
    http://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/2014/01/25/weekly-photo-challenge-juxtoposition-crossed-wires/ 🙂

    1. Oddly enough, I had flown into New York a few days earlier, and my neighbour spotted Enterprise from his window, parked up at an airport I think. I don’t think he told me though that it would be heading upriver and I only learned that from a newspaper once I arrived. So we did have a few hours notice and thousands of New Yorkers were there with me to wave it in. Quite a party atmosphere, and a very exciting time to be visiting from London!

      1. That is really cool. I appreciate the explanation. I’m glad you had a great time of it. Photography’s fun, but having fun while you’re having fun is doubly delicious! LOL

  3. Love the family pic, by the way. 🙂

    1. Thanks, that’s good of you to say. The Crossed Wires image is stunning.

      1. Thanks. I appreciate that. I’ll take luck any day of the week when it comes to photography, or anything else, for that matter. LOL

Please feel free to comment

