Juan Munoz: the feeling of loneliness

Juan MunozJuan Munoz’s work, if you don’t know it already, often features slightly smaller than full size sculpted human figures, sited singly and in groups, and made from bronze or resin. I think I first came across his work at Tate Modern in London in 2008, and Many Times (1999) in particular made a huge impression.

His work can suggest conspiracy, despair and isolation. In Many Times, ‘the figures walk and talk among themselves, congregate in groups of two and three and more, laugh and joke [….] it so perfectly distils – and so unnervingly communicates – the near-suicidal bleakness at the heart of all Munoz’s work. To walk among these figures is to feel utterly alienated, perfectly lonely. It is to feel excluded from the world while still experiencing that world, but only as a joyless, colourless experience’ (Andrew Graham Dixon).

I don’t remember if I took this photograph or whether I grabbed it from the internet. If you know it’s not mine, please let me know. Munoz died prematurely at the age of forty-eight. He was a
Spanish sculptor, draughtsman and painter. I am sure that many will recognise the feeling of being apart that this installation communicates.

This post was prompted by Weekly Adoption Shout Out (#WASO) on the theme of Rejection.

5 comments

  1. I haven’t heard of this artist before – fascinating work.

    1. It’s very disturbing and interesting work – really worth seeing I think. Makes you look at life in a different way. I just googled and it looks as if there’s some of his work showing in Margate in case that’s anywhere near you? X

  2. Wow your photo sent shivers down my spine from the first glance. The picture alone is almost overwhelming to me. A thought provoking and amazing post. Thank you for sharing

  3. Oh thank you honeymummy. I’ve had those shivers too. We’ve all been there I’m sure…. At the edges… Us and our children too.

  4. […] Juan Munoz: the feeling of loneliness […]

Please feel free to comment

